St Peter's Pro-Cathedral
Church Street, Liverpool L1

Liverpool Record Office: Unique ID: Hf 283 1 PET
Description: Photo of St. Peter's Church, North West view from Church Street
Date: 24th Nov 1919
Copyright: out of copyright
 
To the north of Church Alley, was the site of St. Peter's Anglican church and it's graveyard. The first chapel here is recorded in 1680, by the Lord Street Bridge over The Pool. It was not until 1704 that the church was finally consecrated as St Peter's. It was a famously ugly church, squat and with an ill-proportioned octagonal tower, although it is seen photographed in a beautiful grove of elms with the (present) Marks & Spencer building across the street. It was the parish church of Liverpool until 1880 when the Anglican bishopric of Liverpool was established and it became the pro-cathedral, witnessing the enthronement of the first bishop. It was closed in 1910 and demolished between 1919 and 1923. (It is not known why demolition was so protracted but photographic evidence confirms the time span. St. Peter's had an unprecedented throughput. Figures show over 84,400 marriages and a staggering 362,117 baptisms in the church. There would no doubt have been many burials but these ceased in 1823. The church is remembered by a Maltese Cross set into the paving in Church Street outside the building which has previously been Woolworth's and H.M.V. All the remains in the graveyard were removed to Walton Cemetery but there were scandalous tales, at the time of demolition, of labourers seen playing football with skulls in the graveyard.

Source: http://www.toxteth.net/places/liverpool/churches/st peters.htm

Alan Maycock 2007

View this page in high quality PDF format

Walk 003 | Home

Friends of Liverpool Monuments